Drawing and all Things #3: Prophetic Art OR Sixteen Months of Pain (pills) and Counting.

My dear friend, a medical professional, says to me, “Alvaro you CAN’T keep taking that many pills!! It will cause liver failure!!”

I respond, “The alternative is blowing my brains out…which ALSO causes liver failure. :)”

<Bah Dun Tat>

Ahhh, the smiley emoticon. It makes the world soft and fluffy all over again regardless of what has been typed before it. “I kick puppies for a living and so should you!! :)”

And so begins the ODDEST advertisement for a fine art print sale the internet has ever seen.  Scroll down to the bottom to skip to the “Print of the Day” sale info.  Read on for more storytime.

I get high with a little help from my friends.

It's been a hell of a year, and this is just the half of it. The pills have come from a great number of anonymous sources, all of whom have earned my undying love. The painting in the background is about to join the budding collection of Edgar Reta. He's a beefcake personal trainer and he'll make you a beefcake too. Hit him up at www.aplaredo.com.

It’s been a hell of a year, and this is just  the half of it. The pills have come from a great number of anonymous sources, all of whom have earned my undying love. The painting in the background is about to join the budding collection of Edgar Reta. He’s a beefcake personal trainer and he’ll carve a Greek god/goddess out of you. Hit him up at www.aplaredo.com.

 

As any of my social media cohorts can attest to I’ve been quite open about my chronic pain since April of last year.  I make it a point to lighten the mood with a little dark humor and a dazzling array of emoticons, but there is truth to the above exchange between my friend and I.  Pain pills keep me alive, and they will also be what kills me.  After sixteen months of gains and losses in my excruciating recovery, I am finally up and around, getting shit done.  Just this weekend I was  “ragdolling” heavy boxes in true Aerosmith form…ummm…I wasn’t having dirty rock star sex with them, I promise.  I was cleaning out my painting studio, an act which would have been impossible just four months prior – bed ridden and out of my mind.

I get by with a little help from my friends.

Me in my freshly cleaned studio sporting my two beautiful canes from Ralph Cisneros at Mesquite Canes. Hit him up and walk in style, Raza. These canes got me moving. You can find him at www.facebook.com/mesquitecanes.

 

I was hard at work and drenched in sweat when I came across a large plastic container housing five years worth of forgotten lithographs, screenprints, and linoleum cuts.  I opened it up only to learn that the art I make predicts the future…or decides it…like Tim Roth in that Tales from the Crypt episode Easel Kill Ya. <laughs> It turns out that early on in the new millenia I was obsessed with depicting prescription meds in all of my work.  There is even a series of prints entitled Take More Pills. There was absolutely nothing wrong with my health back then.  Did I somehow know that one day I would be living on my apartment floor in Austin, Texas, writhing in pain for six months while downing up to 27 narcotic pills a day just to survive??  Should I have instead drawn pictures of myself in the company of beautiful women with a shot of vodka in each hand laying out on some beach listening to ukulele covers of Iron Maiden songs??  “This new drawing I affectionately dub Double BLONDEtondra.”  I’ve ruined everything!! I’ve squandered my superpower and destroyed myself in the process!!

Or have I???  Wait…no.  I haven’t.  I wasn’t predicting the future.  I may have just been mirroring the present.  Last year I might have taken nine Vicodin at once just to fall asleep, but I have this hazy memory of taking nine…ummm…blue things before a Reverend Horton Heat concert during my undergrad days.  “♪ I’m the baddest of the bad since you’ve been gone. ♫”

I guess it’s true.  The more things change, the more I hate cliches.

Take More Pills: Beta Blocks

So here it is, your print of the day. These are not photo reproductions.  They are original lithographs hand pulled by the artist (this guy).  I have two on stark white paper.  I have another two available on cream colored paper.  And finally I have one available on grey paper.  That one is my favorite.  It is cut to a bleed (meaning there is no border whatsoever) and it shows how the etch on the plate was starting to break down and fill in. Yes, the plate was destroying itself just like I do.

<Bah Dun Tat>

They are $75 a piece.  I truly believe that art should be available to ANYONE who wants to collect it.  If you aren’t able to own a 5′ x 3′ oil painting from me, that shouldn’t mean my art is off limits to you.  Contact me at alv.perez@gmail.com or any other way you know how to reach me if interested. Please comment and share as you see fit, and take some time to explore the entire website.

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “Drawing and all Things #3: Prophetic Art OR Sixteen Months of Pain (pills) and Counting.

Leave a Reply

